Book #3 – Harvest Home

by Thomas Tryon

book 3

Ah, an oldie from my childhood.  I love to be scared.  I grew up in the 70’s when horror movies became popular.  The Exorcist, The Omen, Halloween, The Legacy to name a few.  Friday nights for me meant sleepovers with my best girlfriend Donna watching many Vincent Price movies on Creature Double Feature.  Monday through Friday I also was tuned in to the “ABC 4:30 Movie” as I peeled potatoes for dinner.  I can vividly recall our little 9″ black and white TV in the kitchen and how these movies made dinner prep easier.

“The Dark Secret of Harvest Home” starring Bette Davis was one of my favorites.  Finding a copy of the book on which that movie was based took me back to the 13 year old girl whose life was a lot less complicated and movies were a time to step into other worlds.

Harvest Home is about a family who escape big city life and move to Cornwall Coombe, a remote hamlet where sheep graze the village green, community works to help one another, and life seems simple.

Ahh, not so.  After living here for a brief while, main character Ned Constantine discovers there are secrets lurking in this idyllic corn paradise.

Tryon does an excellent job of painting word pictures to transport the reader to a place anyone would choose to move to – at least until they figure out what is really going on in the village.

I loved the book, and if you like a good, old fashioned scary tale, I suggest you pick up Harvest Home to enjoy on a dark night.

For those of you from the New York/New Jersey area in the 70s, I found a clip on youtube which will take you back in time.  Enjoy!

3.5/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

