Book #12 – Vinegar Hill

by A. Manette Ansay

book 12Arghhh, Oprah, I’m starting to think you live in a bleak world of unhappiness which is why you recommend so many books filled with despair.  You poor thing.  I’m sorry to say, I think you and I are officially kaput.  I just can’t read one more book filled with angst without purpose.

I read “Vinegar Hill”.  I would like to tell you the point in this review, but I haven’t yet figured out why the author wrote this one.  It is chapter after chapter of ughhh.  As one Supreme Court justice once said, “I shall not attempt to define ughhh, but I know it when I see it.”  In this case, read it.

The book is set in the 60’s and 70’s.  An unhappy married couple (starting to think this may be why Oprah never married; her books seldom feature happily married people), unemployment, depression, an angry God, living with in-laws filled with hatred.  Argh.  And the “journey” of the wife (who cares about the character’s name?) to find her own destiny away from husband and house of hate.  Yada Yada Yada.

On another note, I’m selling my copy of “Vinegar Hill”.  Cheap.  It was an Oprah Book Club Selection!!!  Hurry!!! This deal won’t last long.

0/5 Stars

3 thoughts on “Book #12 – Vinegar Hill

  1. Strange that one of the richest and most influential people in the world would be unhappy. But then those things never seem to help people much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

