Book #14 – Devil’s Wake

by Steven Barnes and Tananarive Due devils-wake

The best praise for a novel is when immediately upon finishing, the reader is googling to find out if there is a sequel.  I did and there is – just published and will be read as soon as I can get a copy.

A few years ago I used to joke that you couldn’t swing a young adult novel without hitting a vampire.  Vampires everywhere on those shelves designed to attract teen readers.  Perhaps I am racist (are vampires a race???), but I don’t like vampires.  I just can’t get into vampire romance, vampire angst, vampire anything.  Now, zombies on the other hand – those I like: movies, books, documentaries, etc.

“Devil’s Wake” in many ways is the retelling of the same old zombie story – for some unknown reason, bang – zombies everywhere.  This one, however, set with teens as main characters, feels different.  It feels as realistic as a zombie outbreak can feel.  The characters seem plausible, just the right amount of mayhem, and the Scooby Doo and gang feel to trying to find a place of safety.  It was a comfortable read.  I liked it all and finished it in one night.  Was it as deep as “War and Peace”?  Nope.  But it was just what I needed to pass a night without a lot of effort.

4.5/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

