Book #24 – Whistlin’ Dixie in a Nor’Easter

by Lisa Patton                                                  Book

This book was recommended to me by a southern friend, and solely on her suggestion I picked it up.  I offer this as a disclaimer as a Jersey girl who has never “whistled dixie” or necessarily chosen books who at the heart of them are based on southern roots.

So glad I listened to my friend.  This one was a lighthearted glance into both southern culture, the more stand-offish Vermont culture, close knit girlfriends, and even a Jersey boy with a nod to Bruce Springsteen.  It reads quickly (a new requirement for my poor brain still recovering from its injury).  If I am not immediately captivated, and continually propelled forward in a story, I lose interest.  My “normal” life now resembles that young boy in the old Family Circle comic who takes really long journeys from one point to another.

Patton presents a good story with interesting characters and enough of a plot to keep the reader invested.  The basic premise is a life-long southern gal in her early 30s who obediently follows her husband’s whim of a purchase of a Vermont B&B which includes a 5 star restaurant.  She does not want to go, is not delighted being there and through a set of (kind of) expected circumstances, ends up not only embracing her new role, but flourishing.

In a time of trial, lifelong girlfriends run to her aid, once again reminding me that if you have friends, you have everything.

I recommend this one, and would read any other of Patton’s books.

4/5 Stars

Sue’s brain recovering from mis-prescribed medication (Ativan, a benzodiazepine)

Book

2 thoughts on “Book #24 – Whistlin’ Dixie in a Nor’Easter

  1. Love it! Sounds like a chick book I’d like and I’m glad you read something interesting and light hearted! Prolly better for your healing injured brain.
    Try The Help now? I have it in old fashioned paperback!

    Like

  2. This and the last book would def be “chick lit” a genre I NEVER read before, but about one of the few I can read and enjoy now. I bought both books, so if you want to borrow, let me know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

