Book #39 – Okay, I gave up on this series

Weird title for a book, huh?  That’s because it is not.  book

This is the first time I just quit.

I read, but hadn’t yet reviewed book #1, Ashes by Lisa J. Bick.  It is the story of the world after an EMP happens and not just electronics are affected.  For unknown reasons, depending on a person’s age or health conditions, they either remained the same or became one of the “changed”.  This story focuses on a teen orphan with cancer who now exists in a world of danger.

Earlier in this blog I discussed the validity of “reading” via audiobooks.  Friends disagreed with me that audio was an acceptable format to count as reading.  Since I am both a book reader and an audio book listener since the days of cassette tapes, I disagreed.  For some, audio books make reading a possibility.  I do not like silence so as I cook, clean, walk, I enjoy the stories being told to me to keep me distracted.

Okay, so for the first time I am perplexed by my response to this book, and the second book in the series, Shadows, which I just stopped listening to on my iPod.  I literally could not take any more of the story.  Too many characters, too much going on, I didn’t like any of the people so it is hard to care about the story itself.  Finally, the narration in this story was enough to drive me insane.  Her voice was fine, and when she spoke in a normal tone, it was acceptable.  Unfortunately, this book is NARRATED AS THOUGH MOST OF THE SENTENCES ENDED IN FIVE EXCLAMATION POINTS!!!!!!!!

LITERALLY!!!!!!!! THIS IS WHAT I HEARD IN MY HEAD FOR HOURS AND HOURS AND I NO LONGER COULD STAND TO BE YELLED AT AS THOUGH LIVING THROUGH AN EMERGENCY!!!!!!!!!!

After considering book 1 acceptable, by 3/4 through book 2 I decided my mental health meant allowing myself to walk away.  Just walk away.

Perhaps in another time and space I will pick up a copy of Shadows to read to myself, but that is after I have recovered FROM THE CONSTANT YELLING!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

