The New Neighbour

by Miranda Rijks

As a reader there are certain requirements I must have to really enjoy a book – a plot which I cannot guess the ending, characters I like (and dislike), skillful writing and a feeling like the time I just invested was well spent. The New Neighbour by Miranda Rijks checks all the boxes for me. This is my first Rijks book but will not be my last.

The plot centers around a neighborhood (surprise!), Isobel a stay at home mom in a troubled marriage, a new neighbor, a murder or two and an interesting cast of characters with some typical neighborhood squabbles. This one had me guessing right up until the end, and I appreciate when the author is able to fool me.

At only 8 hours on audio it’s a fairly quick listen and would be a perfect beach read. I’m getting spoiled with multiple narrators who complement one another and Danielle Cohen and Chris Devon both have soothing voices with excellent accents. As an American from New Jersey, I am partial to pretty voices.

Thank you to Negalley and Dreamscape Media for allowing me to listen in advance of the June 30, 2022 release date.

Leave a comment